Search Site
Menu
DUI/DWI

Experienced Westport Law Firm Represents Drivers Arrested for OUI

Trusted Connecticut attorneys defend individuals accused of drunk driving

When your driving privileges are threatened by a charge of operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OUI), a prompt and vigorous defense must be made. The accomplished trial attorneys at MeehanLaw, LLC in Westport have decades of experience handling Fairfield County drunk driving allegations. We investigate the facts thoroughly and identify ways that you might be able to defeat the case or reduce the penalties faced.

Committed Fairfield County lawyers aim to have charges dropped or reduced

Connecticut imposes harsh penalties for OUI convictions. They depend on the driver’s prior record and, if there was a resulting accident, on the extent of any bodily injuries or property damage. Drivers of at least 21 years of age who are found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher face the possibility of:

  • Imprisonment — A court can sentence a driver to jail for OUI. A first offender.is subject to a jail term of at least 48 hours. A second conviction within a 10-year period carries a minimum 120-day sentence, while a third conviction is punishable by at least one year.
  • Monetary fines — A misdemeanor OUI can carry a fine of $500 for a first offense and upward to $8,000 for subsequent offenses.
  • Loss of driving privileges — First and second OUI convictions can carry a 45-day license suspension. Upon a third offense, the motorist loses their driving privileges.
  • Ignition interlock devices — If you have your license suspended for any OUI offense or for failing or refusing to submit a chemical alcohol test, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle before you can have your license reinstated.

Drivers who have not yet reached the legal drinking age are considered legally intoxicated when their BAC is 0.02 percent or higher. They face harsher consequences, including a one-year license suspension for a first offense and a two-year suspension for a second.

Certain first-time offenders can have their charges dismissed by completing the state’s Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. Our Westport criminal defense attorneys can advise you about the requirements for program eligibility and completion.

Thorough lawyers examine the circumstances of traffic stops and police actions

Any driver on a Connecticut road agrees to abide by certain rules, including submission to a sobriety evaluation upon request by a police officer. The punishment for a first refusal is an automatic 45-day license suspension and the installation of an ignition interlock device. On the other hand, consenting to the test may give police the evidence they need to prosecute you for OUI.

However, for an OUI arrest to be valid, law enforcement officers must be able to show that they had reasonable suspicion to justify the decision to stop the car. In addition, there must be probable cause to administer a breathalyzer or other chemical. An error made by law enforcement during the traffic stop, breathalyzer administration or arrest can ruin a prosecutor’s case. We carefully examine all details of the arrest, challenge the results of a sobriety test and call into question any other evidence that may hurt a client.

Contact an established Westport DUI defense law firm to make an appointment

The experienced litigators at MeehanLaw, LLC in Westport provide strategic defense for clients accused of drunk driving in Connecticut. Call our firm at 203-916-1743 or contact us online to schedule a consultation regarding your DUI issue.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and one of our attorneys will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Our Offices
  • Bridgeport Office
    76 Lyon Terrace
    Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604
    Phone: 203-333-1888
    Fax: 203-331-0107
  • Westport Office
    29 East Main Street
    Westport, Connecticut 06880
    Phone: 203-635-4688